Samsun has got 17 districts, 4 of them are central districts. 850.000 people lives at the central Samsun. Around 412.000 people lives in Samsun villages and towns. The most population district is İlkadım, at least population district is Yakakent.

The biggest district is Vezirköprü about 1.713 km² area.

The smallest district is Atakum about 35 km² area.